top of page

Appointments made for the Independent Maori Statutory Board

Image: former MP Tau Henare representing his community once agaain

David Taipari was voted Chair and Glenn Wilcox the Deputy of the Independent Māori Statutory Board at the inaugural meeting of its new three-year term yesterday. Mr Taipari has chaired the Board since its inception in 2010.

In accepting the role as Chair, David Taipari says he is pleased to be able to continue to lead the work of the Board over the next three years.

“The role of the Board is to promote the issues of significance for Mana Whenua and Mataawaka of Tāmaki Makaurau and to ensure Auckland Council acts in accordance with Te Tiriti o Waitangi. With a new Mayor, new Councillors and local board representatives, the Board will be busy in the next few months ensuring that the issues of significance to Māori in this region and the Council’s statutory obligations to Māori are clearly understood.”

David Taipari says the Board will be releasing The Māori Report for Tāmaki Makaurau on 15th November. “The Māori Report brings together the first comprehensive set of indicators to report against the outcomes for Māori in Tāmaki Makaurau that the Board set out in the Māori Plan in 2012.

While the report shows that in a number of economic, cultural, social and environmental indicators Māori living in Tāmaki Makaurau are achieving successes, the report identifies the areas where Council, central government and Auckland need to focus their resources for the benefit of all. Educational achievement and the future earning potential of today’s young people will be an area of increasing research and advocacy by the Board in this term in office.

I welcome my fellow Board members and am confident that together we will serve all Māori of Tāmaki Makaurau well over the next three years”, David Taipari said.

The term for this new Board is 1 November 2016 and continues to 31 October 2019.

Mana Whenua representatives

  • David Taipari (Chairman)

  • Glenn Wilcox (Deputy Chair)

  • Liane Ngamane

  • Renata Blair

  • James Brown

  • Dennis Kirkwood

  • Terrence (Mook) Hohneck

Mataawaka representatives

  • Hon. Tau Henare

  • Tony Kake

bottom of page