top of page

Shortlist for 2018 New Zealander of the Year

Image: Prominent suicide prevention and mental health advocate Mike King is among the finalists.

Māori once again feature in the annual New Zealander of the Year Awards with the shortlist now announced. Chief Judge, Cameron Bennett said that T"hese 10 Kiwis are our voices of conscience, courage and commitment. They don’t just speak truth to power – they put their words into action and make a truly positive difference for all New Zealanders.While one of these 10 people will ultimately be named Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year for 2018, each is already a very special Kiwi in their own right."

The finalists are:

• Philip Bagshaw (Christchurch) • Kristine Bartlett (Lower Hutt) • Grant Dalton (Auckland) • Lesley Elliott (Dunedin) • Heather Henare (Wellington) • Dr Mike Joy (Palmerston North) • Mike King (Auckland) • Dr Mahsa Mohaghegh (Auckland) • Annah Stretton (Hamilton) • Dr Siouxsie Wiles (Auckland)

The annual New Zealander of the Year awards are in their ninth year. They celebrate people who use their passion for New Zealand to make our country a better place. They are open to all New Zealanders to honour extraordinary Kiwis whose selflessness, creativity, and vision make us proud to call New Zealand home.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr. Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

bottom of page